Some people believe that learning mathematics at school is redundant and should not be taught while others believe that it should remain a foundational subject whether or not it is used in life Discuss both sides

Teaching pure theoretical subjects such as mathematics have always been fundamental in schools. However, people have contrasting views on them remaining a part of students’ education. This essay seeks to comprehensively investigate both side of the argument followed by a reasonable conclusion.

Some people are averse to having math in pupils’ education schedule. Firstly, they argue the majority of school graduates take on trading jobs do not require advanced mathematical knowledge base. For example, a truck driver or a general worker scarcely need to learn how to solve complex math. Secondly, by removing the aforementioned course from the curriculum, more emphasis can be put on other practical and beneficial subjects such as plumbing or wiring. Last but not least, they believe due to the difficulty of mathematics, some students that lack adequate intelligence may drop out of school, which has irreversible consequences.

On the other hand, many others believe that taking mathematics has unparalleled benefits to the degree that it should remain a fundamental subject at all costs. They explain, first and foremost, practicing mathematics at schools develops student’s intelligence. For example, a study shows, pupils who take mathematics seriously and practice more often perform better in an intelligence efficiency test called Raven’s Test; thus, score higher on IQ Table. Moreover, many college courses need mathematical knowledge to be completed. For example, college students who study engineering courses should be able to solve complex mathematical problems. Lastly, mathematics always comes in handy, even for general workers. Take cashiers as a tangible example. They are usually required to have basic accounting skills; hence, remaining math as a teaching subject is beneficial for all professionals.

All in all, it can be concluded while there is a plethora of advantages and disadvantages in having mathematics as a course in schools, it seems the merits of keeping it as a foundational subject outweigh the demerits.