Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required.Discuss both these views and give yo

The wellbeing of the masses is one of the main concerns of governments; therefore, improving the health of the people is a vital priority. Some people believe to be successful in the said trend, the number of sporting amenities should be raised. Whereas, others believe alternative methods are needed. I believe the former approach will not be adequate and other methods should be employed in parallel.

People who support increasing the sports facilities argue that deteriorating trend of public health is due to the lack of physical activity. They say by increasing the number of sports facilities people are encouraged to work-out; and hence, will be healthier. Moreover, having more gymnasiums in various places is more is more convenient. For instance, having a gym close-by makes it easier for people in the same zone to use it in bad weather. Furthermore, it decreases the unnecessary expenses such as transportation fee to a distant facility.

On the other hand, other people, myself included, believe there is a cascade of alternative measures that are equally reasonable. Firstly, many people are not aware regarding the dangers of unhealthy activities such as consuming junk food and smoking that they do on a daily basis. Thus, informing the public by methods such as erecting informative billboards is a step in a right direction. Secondly, eliminating causes of a problem can be considered as a solution. Raising the sales-tax on harmful substances and products such as tobacco and alcohol leads to decreasing the number of users; and so, the ailment that is related to abusing these products. Last but not least, Increasing the cost of health care for treatment of diseases caused by unhealthy diet could strenuously prevent people from consciously undermining their general health.

To conclude, increasing the number of sports facilities can admittedly have positive effects on the improvement of people’s health. However, it should be accompanied with other effective methods such as those mentioned above to ensure the optimal outcome.