Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organized group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The lucrativeness of team activities compared to the benefits of individual occupations has always been a subject of heated debate. Some guardians assert that youngsters should be encouraged to participate in group activities in their leisure time. In contrast, other parents opine children should be taught to engage in solitary activities in their free time. This essay seeks to investigate both mentioned notions, followed by my own perception.

On the one side of the argument, parents that defend the former method state some points to justify their belief, which is as follows. Firstly, if offspring play in groups, their interpersonal skills will improve. Because of group activities, Children will learn how to cope with others and how to behave in the presence of their peers. Moreover, being with others is healthier; for it prevents psychological disorders. To illustrate, studies conducted by prestigious universities such as LEA, show that children who often take part in activities like team sports are less vulnerable to depression.

On the other hand, the opposition put forward some convincing arguments. First and foremost, they say playing in solitude not only keeps the children busy, but it also keeps them away from the danger of getting affected by a bad influence. To elaborate, it is often seen that youngsters take part in illegal activities because of the influence their peers have on them. Statistics show that more than 50 percent of juvenile crimes are committed by people who had a criminal friend. Secondly, by learning to occupy themselves, children also learn to be independent. Individual activities eliminate the need for a helping hand; hence, participants learn to rely on their own skills and competency.

To recapitulate, both the aforementioned perspectives have merit. However, I strenuously believe that in the competitive era that we live, forcing children to play on their own will leave them socially destitute, which is too high a cost to pay for any reservation people have regarding group activities.