Some people think that it is better to educate boys and girls in separate schools, others, however, believe that boys and girls benefit more from attending mixed schools.

Discuss both these views and give your own view.

Edification methods have always been the subject of heated debates. While some people assert boys and girls should be taught in separate schools, others opine it is more beneficial for children if they attend mixed schools. This essay aims to investigate the reason behind both views, followed by my perception.

Supporters of separate education claim there are a plethora of reasons why their view on edification is justified, namely the less distraction of teenagers due to the absence of the opposite gender. Youngsters have a tendency to be attracted to the opposite sex, which causes them to wander and steer away from their duties. This issue, however, will be eliminated if pupils attend separate schools. This way, they will stay more focused on their lessons and get less distracted, allowing them to learn better, which in turn allows them to score better in their final examination. For instance, statistics of research conducted by the Harvard university acknowledge that students who go to separate educational institutes score 21 percent higher mark than those who enroll in mixed schools. This evidence highlights the benefit of enrolling in separate schools due to less distraction for tutees.

However, another angle on this debate suggests that mixed-education is a superior method because it helps children develop their social skills. It is an indisputable fact that inter-personal skills have an imperative role in people’s success. Students’ who attend mixed schools interact with their opposite-sex peers, allowing them to be more competent around other genders, which in turn leads to the development of their social skills. I, for example, went to a high school that both boys and girls attended and I learned how to behave around and treat them with the respect they deserve; consequently, when I started to work at my current job, I was more comfortable and confident around my female colleagues.

To recapitulate, this essay has examined both sides of the argument and showed both separate and mixed education have advantages for students such as less distractive atmosphere and social development respectively. However, I strenuously believe children should attend mixed schools because otherwise they might be left socially destitute.