Some people think women should play an equal role as men in the country's police force, military, and the army, while others believe that women are not suited for this work.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In our ever-changing world, the equality of men and women is extended to combat units. Therefore, contrasting views exist as to whether or not working in such roles is suitable for women. In this essay, both sides of the argument are comprehensively investigated, followed by my personal opinion.

The supporters of gender equality in such occupations enlist a number of reasons behind their viewpoint. Firstly, there should be more emphasis on merits rather than gender. They convincingly explain that in tactical units such as police and military, one’s performance is more important than physical features; hence, by depriving women of being able to join these forces, their quality and efficiency drops. Secondly, by having both men and women in the military, the human resource pool is significantly broadened, which will ensure more rapid response and firmer combat resolve when needed. Last but not least, these days, with the presence of cultural diversity, having female combatant is almost necessary. For instance, religious rules dictate to Muslims not to be touched by opposite gender except close family. Therefore, not having both sex operators in units will result in escalating tensions.

On the other hand, the opposition argues that having women in military or police force has a multitude of disadvantages. First and foremost, physical constraints render combat units inefficient. Take pregnancy as an example, it is not passable to dismiss employees that have important roles for a long period of time because the cohesion of units will be compromised. Furthermore, having women in these units may increase the number of sexual harassment occurrences; consequently, shattering the discipline and moral of combatants. Lastly, having women is in contrast to the military tradition, which puts a high emphasis on brotherhood among company members. From the dawn of military concepts, it was men that carry dangerous missions and faced the enemy in the eye; thus, manly tasks should be done by men and men only.

By the way of conclusion, while both views have convincing arguments regarding the employment of women in military and paramilitary forces, I personally believe the mentioned advantages such as having a wider human resource pool and utilization of merit and outweigh the drawbacks; thus, I strenuously agree with having women in these units.