Some people thinks that government should increase tax on unhealthy food to encourage people to start eating healthy. Do you agree or disagree?

It has been alleged by fair amount of people that state should charge more tax on junk and packed food in order to motivate people to have healthy eating habits. However, I assert that there are many other ways that will encourage people to consume healthy food.

To begin with, high tax on unhealthy food will alter the eating habit of poverty stricken people, but there are many who can conveniently afford to buy the eatable at high price. So a segment of society will be affected by this change. Moreover, it will make the situation adverse for the people who are not able to buy healthy food, because of its high price. Rather than increasing the price of fast food, if the cost of fresh fruits and vegetables is decreased it will benefit the society in much better way. Government has to open the shops of the healthy food in more number so that it will be convenient for the public to purchase that the same and also try to provide this fresh food at affordable price.

To substantiate further, spreading awareness among general public is another vital way to alter the eating habits of the citizens. Authorities has to teach the people about the numerous benefits of healthy food for human body and how unhealthy eating habits increase obesity and cause other healthy issues. Including this in school curriculum will help the student to learn about the importance of balanced diet and negatives consequences of fast food on their body. Organizing awareness campaigns at public places will definitely educate the people and they will alter their eating habit and choose healthy food for their entire family.

In conclusion, unequivocally increasing tax on junk food will make only subtle change for few population. Spreading awareness about the advantages of healthy food and making it available at more places and at less price will encourage more people to adapt healthy food in their daily life.