Successful sports professionals can earn a great deal of more money than people in other important professions.

Sports professional get fame and money based on their performance in their game and fan following they have. Whether this pay is more than the amounts received by people from important professionals? This essay deliberates this conundrum in detail.

Sportsman, in general, is considered to represent their nation on an international platform, while playing their game. They shoulder immense responsibility for getting success, not only for their team but for their home country. They dedicate several hours practising their sports, where they devote a lot of their personal time and money and sacrifice their family life. For example, PT Usha, an Indian athlete, who won for India 4 gold medal and 1 silver medals in the tracks and fields events. To do this feat, she would have spent several hours on a running track. Further, a sportsman inspires the youth of the nation to stay fit and healthy. Managing a healthy diet and lifestyle requires investment in expensive superfoods and access to world-class trainers and training facilities. Some sportsman requires to travel abroad to get specialised training if adequate or advanced level coaching is not available in their countries. For example, Grandmaster Vishwanathan Anand, Indian chess player and World’s No.1 (in 2007) trained in Norway with his peers.

However, it would be unfair only for sports-heroes to receive hefty sums for their achievements in the game. Other people who pioneer in their professions do also deserve to pay for extremely vital skills. For example, a Cardiac specialist is highly paid and skilled doctors, who not only save the patient’s life from critical illness but also, cater to their physical well-being. Another example of enormously talented people are Actors, who deserve to be remunerated for their rare skill-sets. Apart from acting performances and entertainment they give, their life is constantly under the scanner and people wish to be privy to their favourite star’s life. Another set of people who should receive, undoubtedly, higher remuneration are army men. They sacrifice their lives for their countrymen and live in harsh conditions protecting the border of their nations.

Hence, based on aforesaid discussion, sportsman does deserve to be paid higher remuneration to upkeep their motivations, health needs and continuously foster their expertise. At the same time, professionals who are vital for societal needs should receive a good amount of earnings.