Today the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree?

Our purchasing habits depend on many factors and popular adverts play a big role. While the sale figures are influenced by marketing strategies supported by ads, I think that the primary reason of buying something is to satisfy our needs. With this view, I strongly disagree with the statement that the high transactions are outcome of power of promotions.

First and foremost, people buy goods and merchandise to satisfy their needs. Therefore, most of the items that are purchased in our lives are most probably the grocery items. These are such items, which satisfy the necessities of human life. It is unconceivable that the sales of goods such as pulse, rice, flour etc. get influenced by TV ads or radio jingles. Moreover, these items are generally purchased exactly to meet the short demands, as most of them are perishable. Therefore, no advertisements can boost their sales.

Secondly, any products that we purchase need to have some utility. If such products cannot be used in our life, then, what is the purpose of buying them? No fancy and appealing advertisement can enhance sales revenue in this case. Hence, it is evident that people would like to buy ultimately those products and services, which are actually needed. Though advertisement may help to attract more customers, the actual sales transactions are dependent upon people’s needs.

In conclusion, the sales of consumer goods are reflection of people’s necessities and wants. As a rational human being, we tend to buy those products that are our requirements. An advertisement is only to create interest on the product but final decision is made to meet the requirement of daily lives.