Traffic congestion is a serious problem in many countries around the world. Describe the situation in your home country and suggest some solutions.

Nowadays, since cities are continuing to grow, especially in developing countries such as Vietnam and some Southeast Asia countries, their streets are becoming extremely congested. This essay will look at the reasons and propose some measures.

One of the major causes of traffic congestion is simply a lack of space. Because most of the streets are narrow, which were constructed in the last few decades, used to contain mainly bicycles, motorbikes, and a few cars, it has no room for new roads to handle the rapid growth of transport means. This problem could be addressed by investing in satellite cities which close to the central city with many modern traffic facilities and new wide roads. Simultaneously, the government should create more new jobs to engage fresh graduates moving to new cities that might be to reduce the overcrowded situations in the center.

Another factor of a traffic jam is the rising wealth of city dwellers. Purchasing a car seems to be a popular way to show off one's prosperity. Many cars in which middle-class people are affordable appear to increase gradually despite it is surely unable to widen the roads. Up to now, cars have begun to swallow the space that just used to accommodate many smaller forms of transportation. The forward way might be to stimulate new citizens turning to use public transportation instead of private cars.

In conclusion, while economic growth and population increase have led to massive matters with traffic, some practical solutions mentioned above should be taken with the view to improve the situation. It is more important to build up modern public transport systems than to destroy long time roads which may relate to historical sites and unique architectural structures.