Traffic congestion is a serious problem in many countries around the world. Describe the situation in your home country and suggest some solutions.

Traffic jam is a major phenomenon in most cities, especially, it has become worse for developing countries. In Vietnam, a city such as Hanoi is not immune to the fundamental challenges of traffic congestion. This essay will look at the reasons and propose some measures.

One of the critical causes of traffic congestion is that roads are too narrow and poorly built. Most of the streets were built in many last decades, where they used to accommodate mainly bicycles, motorbikes, and just a few cars. As these cities grow in an ad-hoc manner, no provision is made towards scaling road capacities. Furthermore, the city has been explosive growth in its vehicular population. Consequently, there are more and more several bottleneck roads. To tackle this problem, the government should invest more in enhancing modern traffic facilities, encouraging the usage of public transit as much as possible, and releasing limitate regulations of private vehicles.

Another factor is the bad attitude of drivers. They seem not to be well-trained to follow lane discipline, particularly at peak hours, which worsens the already overcrowded junction situation. Moreover, it was observed from most of the main roads that the various shops, offices, and spiritual places along it had either lack of space or inadequate parking lots. As a result, customers tend to park cars along the shoulders of the road causing a further jam. Issuing harsh punishment for offenders is apparently needed, and the forward way might be to give an incentive for drivers to follow the rules.

To sum up, economic growth and excessive vehicles have led to massive matters with traffic. The practical actions mentioned above should be taken with the view to improve the situation.