You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care.

Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Old age people in any part of the world need special care and attention since they are unable to look after themselves. It's not only financial support which they need; physical and emotional support are equally important. In this essay, I want to present my views to support that the government and individuals themselves need to pay for their care during old age.

When it comes to an ideal world, old age people can rely entirely on government to support them. But given the fact that the government has to allocate funds to other critical areas like child education, infrastructure, etc., the government alone cannot be burdened to pay the wholesome old age care cost. Also, this is taxpayers' hard earned money and should be used judiciously. In my opinion, the cost should be distributed between the government and the individuals. Everyone should save for their old age or retirement while they are earning. There can be specific item in the salary which can be deducted on every paycheck which can be accumulated till retirement. However, in such an arrangement as well, there can be cases where poor people would be unable to save for their old age. In that case, the government can be held responsible for their care when they are old.

Many countries like India already have such schemes for people to save for their retirement or old age. Provident Fund money is a part of everyone's salary (ten percent of basic salary component) and is managed by Public Provident Fund association, which is in turn a government organization. People are allowed to withdraw the amount upon retirement.

To conclude, I believe that the cost for old age care should be borne by the government and people themselves and distributed as deemed fit.