Competition between friends usually negatively impacts friendships.

As a popular adage nowadays goes like, “Friends are God’s way of taking care of us”. There is no denying the fact that friendship functions as the most vial part in our daily life, and friends can impact our characteristics, habit, and even the decision we made. There are those people who hold the idea that competition between friends usually negatively impacts friendships. In my opinion, competition exerts positive effects on friendship because competition makes a friendship healthier, and it creates more valuable memories about this friendship.

Competition helps people reach a healthier friendship in way of encouraging each one in this relationship become a better person. Recent research has found that people who are undergoing a competitive relationship tend to be more self-control and be more persistent when facing difficulties. A prime example from my own experience might shed some light on this point. During my high school period, I treated my deskmate not only as my best friend but as my competitor. We encouraged each other before each test, and determined to exceed each other at the mean time. Finally, we both received great scores at our high school graduation exam, and we still cherished these precious moments we spent together. This example shows how important a friend could be when you are pursuing a goal, and a competition helps you become a better man.

A competitive relationship creates more memorable moments and will be cherished lifetime. As Helen Keller once said, “Walking through darkness with a friend is better than walking alone in light”. Friends are light tower when you are travelling in darkness, and after the storm, you will never forget these time you spent with you friends together. Take my mother’s story for example. She met her lifetime best friend at a dance competition. They are in different age, and comes from different school, but common interest bonds them together. They always competed with each other when they are young, and now my mother still mentions these stories about her and her best friend. Hence, a competition makes your relationship long-last.

Essentially, competition does not hurt a friendship, instead, it helps you reach a healthier relationship with your friends, and at the same time, makes your friendship long-lasting. Thus, I support the idea that competition does not impact friendship negatively.