Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments shouldfocus their budgets more on environmental protection than on economicdevelopment.

Environmental problems and economy prosperity are always on the agenda of the government. Some governments give priority to the environment, while others consider economy as the most crucial. As far as I am concerned, both the environment and the economy should be paid attention to in order to ensure the well-being of the citizens.

On the one hand, environment problems may pose a threat to our normal lives. Firstly, environmental contamination is detrimental to our health. According to a recent survey which is conducted by a famous international organization, in order to reap great benefits, some merchants build a host of chemical factories around a small village which is located in south China. These factories pour polluted water into the river, as a result of which, many villagers suffer from various cancers. In fact, there are few places where you can not find similar cases. Secondly, environmental problems may also spoil the pleasure of living. An example of myself would aptly illustrate my point. This spring an unexpected sandstorm happened which disarranged my schedule my trip to Tai Lake where I could have enjoyed the natural scenery. When I went to the car park I was surprised to find my car is completely covered with a thin layer of dust. Then I drove my car to have the car have the dust removed but the queue was endless since numerous people were waiting to have their dusty cars cleaned.

On the other hand, a well-developed economy is necessary for each family to make a living. Without sufficient money, nobody could ever enjoy a satisfactory life. First of all, only with enough money can people’s basic lives be guaranteed. Some authoritative newspaper once reported that children in some improvised areas can not pay intuition and drop of school. What is worse, due to lack of money, s serious disease may mean death to these children. In addition, good economy is a prerequisite of the society’s safety and stability. Healthy economy means sufficient jobs for the citizens. Once the community is confronted with depressed economy, a host of workers will be laid-off, and the immediate consequence is a rapid increase in the number of crimes.

To conclude, either environmental problems or desperate economy would impede the well-being of the citizenry. A sensible government should focus on both fields to create a better life for people.