Do you agree or disagree? People gain more happiness from their jobs than their social life.

Both jobs and social life bring people happiness, of course. But in my opinion, the happiness brought by the social life really pales in comparison to the happiness we could gain from our jobs.

What jobs bring us is not just the financial compensation, but more importantly, the sense of achievement, which attaches more meaning to my life. Think about teachers. Their job includes giving lectures, doing teaching researches, and checking students’ work, which sometimes can be quite laborious. But once seeing that students are progressing in their academic performance, or realizing that students’ behavior pattern are evolving towards a better direction, teachers would be all surrounded by the sense of achievement. Likewise, think about policemen. Their work can be really dangerous, because they need to arrest criminals, and so frequently they are left with little time to rest. But remembering that the society becomes safer and more stable because of them, they will be willing to shoulder this kind of responsibility. Jobs undoubtedly bring people the sense of fulfillment.

Of course, the social life with friends brings us emotional consolation—we could feel totally relaxed after a day’s work, chatting over the dinner table and going shopping together with our besties. It’s largely true. But as for me, the more relaxing moments are those ones when I am alone, hitting the gym or curling in the bed, reading my favorite book. Also, sometimes social life brings pressure. In the conversation with friends, sometimes the income, the marriage issues, the child issues, and so on will pop up. I still remember one of the most embarrassing moments. That was a day when I was in a party, celebrating a friend’s birthday. She suddenly proposed a toast, “wish Niki could find a boyfriend ASAP”. That moment I felt both awkward and ashamed. In the social life, however, these moments usually strike all of a sudden, which is why I could hardly find joy in all sorts of social activities.

Hereby I have made myself quite clear: people could gain more happiness through jobs than their social life.