People can take care of their family members better when they live in big cities than in the countryside.

How do you define “taking care of the family members”? In my opinion, it’s not just cook the dinner or do the laundry; more importantly, it means creating an environment where our family members—both our parents and kid can develop better, live healthily and happily. In such sense, living in big cities wins me over.

The primary concern is the education for children in the family, and of course the big city is a much wiser choice. Big cities never fail to attract prestigious teachers, who both excel in academic skills and are proficient in applying the most proper teaching methodology when guiding children. For instance, in a typical English class in Beijing, the teacher might start a new lesson by playing an interesting clip from an English movie; and thus students’ interest and attention will be naturally aroused; but in the remote countryside, the majority of the teachers are still following what we call “force-feeding” education, featured by reading after the lines in textbooks lesson after lesson. Equipment is another concern. We all would understand that children could better understand the process of cell division if a microscope is at their hand. But the truth is that in the countryside, there are barely enough chairs for children to sit, not to mention those necessary but expensive equipment.

Also let’s not forget about the older ones, whose mental and physical health would be better maintained in metropolises. In big cities, eligible doctors and nurses gather and are readily approachable if some certain diseases suddenly hit. As a result, some diseases that seem to be fatal for the medical team in the countryside might just be a small piece of cake for their counterparts in cities such as Beijing and Shanghai. Apart from the physical health, another factor that calls for our attention is the older people’s mental health. Gradually getting away from the glory in their career, older people sometimes would be anxious and depressed. Of course, they need something else to attract their attention and to spend more time on. For instance, our mothers in their 50s might need some square dance team, in which they could find friends of the same interest, and our fathers might want to join a golf club to kill the time. Needless to say, big cities abound in such groups and teams, while in the countryside, the older people might suffer from sheer loneliness at their home.

Here I think I have made myself quite clear: for the better sake of both our parents and kids, we’d better choose to live in big cities, rather than in the small countryside.