The people we work with have many different characteristics and all of them affect the quality of our time at work. Of the following, what do you think is the most important quality for a boss or supervisor to have?

-a serious attitude about their work

-a lot of related experience

-a tendency to always tell the truth

These days, a number of people spend their lot of time at their workplace, and their enjoyment really depends on the characteristics of their supervisor. As far as I am concerned, I strongly believe that there are two main qualities for a splendid boss, which are serious attitude and sincerity. This essay will provide further aspects and examples to support this idea in the subsequent paragraphs.

First and foremost, a serious working boss can encourage the people to be professional. He or she is usually keen on company’s works and has a strong sense of responsibility. Furthermore, as he or she truly understands about the operation of the company, staffs in the company will be motivated and worked every procedure in the professional way. I can attest this with my own experience; my old supervisor, who like to travel, often missed the company. His absent caused the company lack good operation, and staffs could not effectively work. Therefore, our works were overwhelming and had numerous mistakes. Every staffs had to work doubly. If the supervisor had been more serious, this would not have happened.

Secondly, another fact that supports my standpoint is that an honest boss will acquire respects from staffs. As he or she always tell the truth to the members, it will develop good relationship in the company. Importantly, a good relationship makes good operation, and it improves the works’ quality. For instance, when people in the company have trust each other, they have not problems between others. Consequently, members in the company will tend to be happy in the workplace. According to the research from Harvard University in Boston, the happiness of workers in company affects to the quality of company’s performance. This relation creates mutual advantages to both company and staffs.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that attitude of working and honesty are the essential factors to be a good supervisor. This is due to the fact that staffs will happy to work with a trustworthy boss, and they will have a good operation from a serious working supervisor.