When teachers assign projects on which students must work together, the students learn much more effectively than when they are asked to work alone on projects.

Admittedly, working on a project with other students can promote the team spirit. However, just as the old saying goes, “every coin has its two sides.” The drawbacks of working together on a project overwhelm its limited advantages, while working alone is quite the opposite. Therefore, I vote for working alone on projects.

To begin with, the purpose of assigned projects is to help students master the knowledge by applying it into the real world. Therefore, working alone is a fabulous approach to achieve this goal, in that students are able to practice utilizing the points they have learned independently. Once there appears something they are not familiar with, they will go through the textbook and review this knowledge point again. Take my best friend Jay for example. This term he is occupied attending calculous course. His teacher tends to assign independent projects, which means that Jay has to finish the assignment on his own. Clever as he is, Jay sometimes finds it hard to tackle these problems. So he refers to the mathematic books from time to time. It is by solving the questions himself that he made a rapid progress in this semester. As a result, he gets a full mark in the final exam! Were it not for working alone on the project, how can he gain such an excellent grade in the end? Consequently, it is safe to say that working on a project independently dramatically lifts up study efficiency.

Some people may argue that working in groups not only is effective but also can cultivate the team spirits that can aid us in accomplishing a better project. This idea may seem plausible at the first glance, but after careful examination, we can easily discover its flaw. Is working together truly effective? I am afraid not. According to my own experience in high school, chances are that these students will start chatting with each other first, rather than seriously consult with others about the homework. Therefore, team working does not necessarily guarantee a high efficiency as it seems to do. In addition, it is no denying that group working can lead to students’ team spirits. However, apart from working together, we can also utilize other methods such as exchanging ideas after everybody has accomplished the project on their own. In this way, not only can we learn novel ideas from each other, but also we avoid the possible shortcomings that we might encounter in working together.

To draw a conclusion, working alone possesses hundreds of fantastic advantages with few problems that can be overcome readily. Therefore, I firmly give priority to working.