Age discrimination occurs when a decision is made on the basis of a person’s age. In the work place, these are most often decisions about being employed in the first place, winning promotions or being unfairly dismissed. Should discrimination against older workers be made illegal?

Age discrimination occurs when a person is treated less favorably, or not given the same opportunity in a similar situation, because of their age. Nowadays, age discrimination is a matter of huge debate. In the modern, workplace, age discrimination occurs when an elderly person is not given employment, promotions or unfairly dismissed, simply because they are old. In this essay, I will try to discuss if age discrimination against elderly workers should be made illegal.

Many experts believe that age discrimination, like any other forms of discrimination, should be made illegal. Elderly people have extensive experience in their field or professions, and can also train or mentor young graduates starting their careers. For instance, a 60-year-old doctor can treat patients much better than a person who just started his career as a doctor.

On the other hand, some people believe that age discrimination should not be illegal. Due to advancement in technologies, most elderly people are not familiar with many software’s or other technologies just introduced. For example, a young accountant can use new accounting software called MYOB, whereas someone who started their career 40 years ago, will be still using old or out of date software. Also, most companies prefer long-term employment, and If a company employs a 58-year-old, he will retire most likely after 2 years.

However, In my opinion, age discrimination should be made illegal, as most companies can benefit from experience work force.

In conclusion, age discrimination should be made illegal in our society.