'It is as important for school children to study music, art and sport as it is for them to become literate and numerate.' How far do you agree with this statement? Support your point of view with reasons and / or examples from your own experience.

School children taking part in activities such as music, art, and sport has increasingly become common in recent years. People's opinions differ as to whether or not children should study music and art in order to become literate. While there are some strong arguments against the importance of such learning, I believe that they are an important aspect of their education. This essay will discuss why students should participate in sports, arts, and music.

The reasons why children should take part in sports, arts, and music are countless, but the most prominent one is, it expands their knowledge so they can use them in their day-to-day life. As a result, it also useful in their school life. John, for example, is an excellent student because he's a master in activities such as sports, arts, and music, Hence, learning something other than the school subjects helps the children in the long run.

In addition to gaining knowledge, sports such as chess helps in relieving the stress. Children are already pressured with many subjects in their school and without arts and sports, they will suffer from mental disorders. In my experience, reports suggest that young people who do not take part in sports will go under stress. Hence, sports play a significant role in childhood education.

In conclusion, activities such as music, art, and sport help children to expand their knowledge and provide mental relief. In my opinion, it is important for children to learn music, art, and sport.