Should heritage buildings be preserved ?

The importance of preserving heritage buildings, which was always debatable, has now become more controversial. The substantial influence of preserving the heritage buildings has sparked the controversy over the potential impact on building. It can be agreed that preserving heritage buildings is a wise decision. This essay will elaborate how preserving old historical buildings helps to understand history and how it is environmentally viable and thus lead to a logical conclusion.

Body-1

At the outset, there are numerous reasons why heritage buildings should be preserved, but the most conspicuous one stems from the fact that heritage buildings are a symbol of history and provide information about different cultures and its heritage, which reflect and shape beliefs, values and understanding of current and future generations. As an illustration, an understanding of the cultural heritage of different communities of the past not only encourages mutual respect for other ways of life but also helps in development of laws and social structures. Hence, it would protect extinction of beliefs by remembering through old buildings.

Body-2

Another key justification for upholding this notion is that historical building preservation is a practice of conserving limited natural resources, which is beneficial for the environment in the long run. As an illustration, redevelopment and restoration of heritage buildings reduce energy usage associated with demolition, waste disposal and new construction, and promotes sustainable development by conserving the embodied energy in the existing buildings. So, it is elixir idea to reduce energy usage which would be beneficial for next generation.

Conclusion

What has been discussed above, it can be concluded that the impact of preserving historical buildings is prominent and the way it prevents further degradation of the environment should not be overlooked.