In some countries around the world, voting is compulsory. Do you agree with the notion of compulsory voting?

The importance of compulsory voting, which was always debatable, has now become more controversial. The substantial influence of compulsory voting has sparked the controversy over the potential impact on people over the years. It can be said that there are some benefits of obligatory polling, but some people claim that it has some drawbacks as well. This essay will elaborate how compulsory voting stabilizes governance and how this can lead to meaningless polling and thus lead to logical conclusion.

At the outset, there are numerous reasons why compulsory is elixir for country's development, but the most conspicuous one stems from the fact that compulsory voting, which makes residents of a nation more responsible, makes government more accountable to every single person of the country. For instance, compulsory voting mandates that the entire electorate be considered when policies are created and managed as every voting block has a mandated say in how the government is run. Compulsory voting, therefore, empowers government to act upon the best interest of the country.

Nevertheless, there remain some drawbacks, which can certainly overwhelm over the potential influence of compulsory voting, but the most alarming one is rooted in the fact that not only can compulsory voting be proved to be ineffective as it requires voters to show up, but it also doesn't actually require them to cast a meaningful ballot. For instance, it may not reflect the true voice of the majority while people who don't care about their vote tend to vote randomly for people instead because they feel obliged to vote.

From what has been discussed above, It can be concluded that the impact of compulsory voting is prominent, although the way it forces citizens of a nation to express their opinion.