1 An ancient traditional remedy for insomnia the scent of lavender flowers has now been proved effective In a recent study 30 volunteers with chronic insomnia slept each night for three weeks on lavender scented pillows in a controlled room where their sl

A recent study, claiming to cure insomnia using scented lavender flowers, is breaking the internet. As per the latest reports, the experiment was conducted on 30 chronic insomnia patients over a period of 3 weeks, concluding that lavender cures insomnia within a short span of time.

However, the fog hovering around that theory needs to be cleared out.

It has been mentioned vaguely that the experiment was carried out on 30 insomnia suffering patients. More specific data like their age, previous medical conditions or any other chronic illness remains unknown. Owing to these factors, a patient might be sceptical in using lavender flower directly for curing insomnia. Once people get to know its side effects (for example it might aggravate some sort of allergy), it can be used widely.

Also, the dosage of lavender scent used in pillows remains mysterious. Using too much or too little might not work, or worse could engender other serious health issue. As a result, adequate dosage for different stages of insomnia suffering patients needs to be explicitly mentioned to reap the benefits as the study claims.

Also, the study fails to mention the timeline to follow post 3 weeks of treatment. Shall the patients continue with the same dose every night, or it can be reduced. And whether the patients from the experiment recovered permanently or it recurred. All these questions remain unanswered. Knowing these factors will help a patient learn about its long-term benefits.

Last but not the least, traditional remedy triumphs modern medicine any day. Nevertheless, it is unadvisable to use something new prior to knowing its side effects and benefits.