1. An ancient, traditional remedy for insomnia—the scent of lavender flowers—has now been proved effective. In a recent study, 30 volunteers with chronic insomnia slept each night for three weeks on lavender-scented pillows in a controlled room where their sleep was monitored electronically. During the first week, volunteers continued to take their usual sleeping medication. They slept soundly but wakened feeling tired. At the beginning of the second week, the volunteers discontinued their sleeping medication. During that week, they slept less soundly than the previous week and felt even more tired. During the third week, the volunteers slept longer and more soundly than in the previous two weeks. Therefore, the study proves that lavender cures insomnia within a short period of time.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

It might seem logical, at first glance, to agree with the report that lavender scented pillows helps to make feel better and causes sleep. However, in order to fully agree with the argument, we need to have significant amount of evidences. Though, the undrelying issue might have merit, because of lack of complete evidences and unwarrented assumptions, the report is unsubstainted and deeply flawed.

In order to fully evaluate the evidence, the first piece of evidence we need to have is it’s sample size and category of selection. The report do not mention about the age group, helth condition and sex about the volunteers. The same result may not be applicable with other person. Just conducting the experiment in thirty volunteer and concluding the result is not enough to gestate conclusion.

Similarly, the monitoring process is also doubtful. It can not give full idea about the sleeping ability about the volunteers. Like these people are feeling safer in the experimental site and they develp their sleeping habit. Perhaps the volunteers are just pretaining to sleep. In this case, the conclusion is not logically convincing.

The reporter assumes that the scent of pillow remains constant throughout the night. Regarding the specific case, the reporter assuems that, once it is treated with levender leaves, it will work for whole night. The assumption it self not compelling one because the scent migh have loose it’s strength within few hours. Therefour the reason behing the volunteers sleep is another like they feel relax during their experiment, or it might be possible that, they feel safer than their own home. Also, the dose is not mention in the report and we can not conclude any dose work for the choronic patient.

As the report is engaged with an assumptions like the sleepness can monitor through the elcectronic devices perfectly, scent power remains constant, chornic sleep problem is similar for all group and sex, which do a great role in reporter’s argument. If any one of these argument were prove to wrong, the whole report will be thrown into question. Clearly, the reporters required to take more diverse sample, monitor more effectively for long time.