1. The following appeared in a letter to the editor of Parson City's local newspaper. "In our region of Trillura, the majority of money spent on the schools that most students attend — the city-run public schools — comes from taxes that each city government collects. The region's cities differ, however, in the budgetary priority they give to public education. For example, both as a proportion of its overall tax revenues and in absolute terms, Parson City has recently spent almost twice as much per year as Blue City has for its public schools — even though both cities have about the same number of residents. Clearly, Parson City residents place a higher value on providing a good education in public schools than Blue City residents do." Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the letter to the editor of Parson city’s local newspaper, the author concludes that Parson City residents care more about providing good education in public schools than Blue city residents by citing the amount spent on public school being twice that of what Blue city residents spent. On first glance, the author’s argument seems valid, but on further analysis, it is apparent that the author’s argument is rife with holes and based on two assumptions, that if not substantiated, can dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument.

Firstly, the author claims without evidence that Parson city has spent almost twice per year as Blue city has for its public schools. However, the author has not provided any proof of this claim. He states that the money has been spent ‘per year’, but no details regarding the number of years has been given. It begs the question for how many years has Parson city paid twice the amount of Blue city. Additionally, no details about how much money the Parson city government and Blue city government collects in a year have been given. For instance, perhaps, the residents of Blue city don’t pay taxes regularly and that might be the reason why they haven’t given much budgetary allocation for public schools. It is also likely that Parson city government used leftover funds from previous years to pay more this year, this might explain why Parson city has paid (almost) twice as of Blue city. If either of these scenarios is true, then the author’s contention that Parson city cares more about giving to public schools than Blue city does not hold water.

Secondly, the author states that both the cities have equal number of residents and even so Parson city has paid almost twice of what Blue city has paid for public schools. However, this claim might not necessarily be evident. Here, the author assumes that the population distribution of both cities is similar. Perhaps, only a small percentage of Blue city’s population constitute of school going children and therefore they have a smaller number of public schools. This might explain why Blue city has allocated less funds for public education. Consequently, Parson city might have a greater percentage of school going children and hence, need a greater number of schools, which necessitates in more funds to be allocated. If this case is true, then the author’s presumption that Parson city values education more by citing that it has spent almost twice as Blue city on public school funding even though they have equal population, is dubious at best and specious at worst.

In conclusion, it is possible that Parson City’s residents place a higher value on providing good education to students in public schools than Blue city residents. However, as it stands now, the argument resides on two unsubstantiated assumptions that significantly weaken the author’s claim. The author needs to provide additional evidence regarding budgetary allocation report of Parson city and Blue city, population distribution according to age of Blue city and Parson city, and budgetary priorities of both cities for the aforesaid timeline.