The following is a memorandum from the business manager of WLSS television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.”

The business manager of a local television station, in this memorandum, has said that the local television station would likely restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level which was used up by national television broadcasts by arguing the following points.

The author claims to have received complaints from viewers to broadcast weather and local news more than the national news. This reasoning has not been supported by any evidence such as the number of complaints he has received, was the town facing rough weather conditions like floods and wildfires which the people needed information about, had there been an increase in the crimes happening in town has also not been specified by the author.

Additionally, the author claims that the local businesses have canceled their advertising contracts with the television station. But the author fails to give more evidence regarding the reason for the cancelation of contracts such as did the local businessmen feel that the local station was not promoting their advert for longer screen time which resulted in less footfall in their shops.

Since the author has not provided any evidence for his argument, it is deeply flawed and unconvincing.