The following is a memorandum from the business manager of WLSS television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.”

The memorandum states that due to the lack of devoted time to the weather and local news during the late night news program, the viewership and the number advertisers reduced. The argument presented by the manager gives us very little insight about his views.

Firstly, we do not have a clarity about the number of people, who watch the late night news. The viwership for the program could have be low even, Therefore, the amount of money made by local businesses from the advertaisemnts was low. Therefore, the advertisers reduced

Secondly, we do not have any insight about the local businesses, we do not know if they are large-scale businesses or small-scale businesses. Therefore, there could be many reasons why the local businesses pulled out their advertisements from the local news. The businesses could have been running in losses and to cut their losses they could have pulled out their advertisements.

Furthermore, over the years, the population of the place could have been increased and the interests of the people could have been changed for the young children who have been growing up. Therefore, at that time the people would have been more interested in watching some other show during the same time as the news program which eventually reduced the viewership of the program.

Finally, from the above examples we can come to a conclusion that the weather and local news are not the only factors which affected their viewership. To improve their audience, they attract more people by presenting more flashy and flamboyant news.