1. Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so- called Palean baskets were not uniquely Paean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author contends that the Palean baskets were not confined to the Palean district. The evidence that the writer shows is that the Palean baskets were found in Lithos, which is a place crossing the Brim River from Palea. However, the author assumes that in order to cross the River, the people in Palean district should have used boats to go across but no boats were found in Lithos. There are several flaws in the author's conclusion. More evidence should be given to make the author's claim more valid.

First, the author assumes that the very deep Brim river has been in that place from the very past when Palean baskets were first developed. However, the Brim river could have existed hundreds of years after the first Palean baskets were developed. To be specific, the Palean baskets could have been uniquely Paleans' but due to some geological changes in the Palean district, the Brim river could have taken place in the area, dividing the original Palean district into two, Palean and Lithos. Therefore, the time when the Brim river first existed should be investigated in order to make a clear conclusion that the Palean baskets found in Lithos means that the Palean baskets were not Palean's unique object.

Secondly, the writer presumes that the only way to cross the Brim river was through the boats. However, there could be other sources than boats to across Brim river. The Palean people could have used sea animals to send the baskets to Lithos. In this case, since the sea animals do not exist until now, we cannot conclude firmly that the Palean baskets were not uniquely of Palean's contending that we cannot find the sea animals in Lithos. Or, there could have been no artificial sources to cross the river. There could have been severe precipitation in the area in the period when Palean baskets were first made. The rain could have naturally sent the basket to Lithos. Therefore, additional information about the sources that could send the basket to Lithos from Palean should be checked in order to confirm the author's claim.

Finally, the author could still claim that in that time of the years, there were only boats to send the basket to Lithos. However, hundreds of years could have past since the transporting of the basket. Due to the years gap from that time to current times, the boat could have dissolved and disappeared. The boats in the past were mostly made of wood and wood is the material that disappears in the ground. Therefore, the Palean basket could have been the Palean's original one and were sent to Lithos. So geologists should check further to check the existence of the old boats in Lithos.

The above three information should be checked, at least, in order to confirm the author's claim that the Palean basket is not uniquely Paleans'. The geological change in the vicinity of Palean, the sources of transportation through Brim river, and the existence of boats should be checked thoroughly to make a more plausible claim.