1. Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so- called Palean baskets were not uniquely Paean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument claims that the ancient Palean baskets were not indigenous to the prehistoric village of Palea since they were found in another village lithos, across the Brim river from Palea. while this argument may seem of sound reasoning, it lacks the evidence to back it.

Firstly, the argument assumes that since no Palean boats have been found, such boats do not exist. However, it is possible that such Palean boats haven’t been found yet. maybe they were destroyed by floods, earthquakes or other natural calamities. they also might have disintegrated or have weathered away from harsh wind and rain. it is also possible that the ancient Paleans used another means of transport through water bodies. if the argument had provided evidence of a lack of environmental damage and an alternate medium of transport, this assumption would have been valid.

Secondly, the second assumption is that the Brim river has always been deep and broad. During the time of the discovery, it might have been so, but perhaps it was shallower and narrower at that time. Moreover, the river could have had patches where it was shallower or narrower than other areas. These patches might have become deeper in nature due to the erosion of soil. if proof supporting the fact that the Brim river has always been deep and broad existed, this argument would be stronger.

Finally, the argument assumes that the Paleans carried the baskets across the river themselves. maybe they ended up across the brim due to flooding of the river. if there was proof of trade taking place between the village of lithos and Palea or that no flooding of the river took place, this argument would be legit.

In conclusion, while the author of the argument may have come to a sound conclusion regarding the uniqueness of Palean baskets, more evidence is needed before a firm conclusion is reached. if the author provides evidence for the three assumptions, it would be possible to evaluate the argument completely.