The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"The population on Balmer Island increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island plans to limit the number of mopeds rented by each of the island's six moped rental companies from 50 per day to 30 per day during the summer season. Last year, the neighboring island of Torseau enforced similar limits on moped rentals and saw a 50 percent reduction in moped accidents. We predict that putting these limits into effect on Balmer Island will result in the same reduction in moped accidents."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The argument claims that reducing the number of mopeds rented out during the summer months, when population increases, would result in an annual decrease in moped related accidents by 50 percent in Balmer islands. while this argument seems sound, it makes four assumptions for which it lacks sufficient evidence.

To begin, the author states that the population of Balmer island increases to 100,000 during the summer months. However, he fails to mention if the increase in moped rentals is directly proportional to that of the population. perhaps the population that comes to Balmer during summer months prefers to walk. maybe they would rather travel by other means of transport like cars, buses, and trains. if the author provided proof of a substantial increase in moped rentals during the summer months, this argument would be valid.

The argument takes into account only rental mopeds while analyzing the accident rates. A majority of mopeds may be owned and not rentals. perhaps rented out mopeds are only a small percentage of the total number of mopeds on the island. if the author had mentioned that a majority of the mopeds in Balmer islands are rentals, this argument would have been accepted.

The author also assumes that the statistics of rental mopeds on Balmer island and that on Seaville island are the same. perhaps mopeds are the only means of transport in Seaville. maybe limiting the number of rental mopeds was not the only action taken by the town council of Seaville. if the author had provided evidence that reducing the number of rental mopeds was the only course of action taken by Seaville, the assumption would have been valid.

Finally, rental mopeds may not be the sole reason for the accidents. maybe the roads are not of great condition for mopeds. maybe the signals need maintenance. if the author had provided proof that the roads, signals and general traffic of the Balmer islands are in terrific condition, the argument would have been valid.

In conclusion, while the author may seem to have come to a sound conclusion regarding the reduction of accident rates on the Balmer islands, more evidence is required to thoroughly back the assumptions he has made.