103.There is now evidence that the relaxed pace of life in small towns promotes better health and greater longevity than does the hectic pace of life in big cities. Businesses in the small town of Leeville report fewer days of sick leave taken by individual workers than do businesses in the nearby large city of Masonton. Furthermore, Leeville has only one physician for its one thousand residents, but in Masonton the proportion of physicians to residents is five times as high. Finally, the average age of Leeville residents is significantly higher than that of Masonton residents. These findings suggest that people seeking longer and healthier lives should consider moving to small communities.

The speaker extrapolates that the goal of living healthier and longer should be achieved by small towns rather than big cities based on some alleged evidence. The speakers' words are tenuous, for the speaker does not examine the effectiveness of such evidence and wrongly use an existing situation as an effect to support the speaker's view.

The speaker begins with a statement that the sick holidays in a small town called Leeville is more than that of its nearby big city Masonton, indicating that there are more people stay in healthy in the small city. Here, the situation may exists and it is conspicuous in other small cities, in that the total number living in it is much less than that of megacities. For example, 10 people leaving their working position for suffering headache in a village having 100 people, whereas 1000 people experiencing the same in a city maintaining 100000 people, although the number is much lower for small town, the proportion shows reversely.

And, another flawed assertation made by the author is that, the fewer fraction of the number of physicians to patients they served in smaller city suggests a lower rate of sickness on the part of the speaker. In my opinion, the logic is upright incorrect, because that fraction is used to measure a place's competence of medical system. Just as in the real world, only in wealthier areas paying more taxes get more medical professionals, so as police stations. Thus, to make the speaker's viewpoint more tenacious, more reasonable deduction should be made.

Lastly, the higher average rate in countryside towns has other explanations besides one that people living there live a longer life. To illustrate, the possibilities are wide-ranging, as more young people working in companies locating at Masonton, and more elders living in Leeville because of retirement.

In sum, a lot of hole within the speaker's arguments could be easily found and challenged. The effect of small towns on people's longevity is a more baroque study, and such effect may be affected by other things, which is called confounding factors in academic circle. Hence, to illuminate the ideas more precisely, the speaker should find more evident to strengthen his positions and nullify counterproductivities caused by other unrelating variables.