Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

An inference was listed by the speaker to illustrate that the characters of all-genders serving as heroes or role models are enough to be studied when people try to figure out a character of a whole society. The rationale of such deduction is limited, much less its conclusion. Because only heroes or role models are scant to describe a veracious society, as them may be acted as an exemplar that a society wants to attain but does not. And there are a number of other aspects helping scholars understand a society are overlooked.

Sometimes heroes and role models represent a veteran quality of a culture in which local residents tribute it frequently. The presence of them, however, could be thousands years away from the present, especially in countries possessing rich history. Yue Fei, a loyal general who was murdered by emperor served by him in Chinese history, is remembered by Chinese people now and see him as a model scarifying to his emperor. He is totally a suitable choice for scholars to study to understand Chinses society on the part of the alleged logic. But in fact, do scholars grasp much current ideals in China? And they might could do that if they could have gone back in Yue Fei's time, but the answer is still not, in that Yue Fei was slurred as a betrayer at his time until seventy years after his death. Hence, the best way to understand the features of a society is not to simply study on someone seeing as heroes, but to take more relative factors into account.

Except for heroes, many other aspects of a society might be chosen as an entrance to dive in a society. Fist of all, the history, ranging from economy, which is the most important factor in Marx's viewpoint, culture, politics and technology. To illustrate, studying on Chinese history of economy brings scholars a door to access the essential rationale of China's tragedy in last century, agricultural economy holds weaker economic backbone than did revolution of industry. And through understanding of politics, scholars will be clear about how did China become one of the five major countries in UN from that a poverty nation built in 1949. therefore, there are multiple better aspects of a society existing to give people investigating that society, mitigating the so-called importance of role models and heroes.

While challenges mentioned before mitigate heroes and models significance comparing with other meaningful realms, in some extent, heroes also have its special value to diffuse the social ideology. In a nutshell, a limited range to conclude what a society is is provincial for the complexity of a society, multi-dimensional study is necessary to prevent relating studies from a narrowing horizon.