105. The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of Butler Manufacturing.

"During the past year, workers at Butler Manufacturing reported 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than workers at nearby Panoply Industries, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. A recent government study reports that fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers are significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents. If we shorten each of our work shifts by one hour, we can improve Butler Manufacturing's safety record by ensuring that our employees are adequately rested."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this memo, the vice president of Butler Manufacturing contends that Butler Manufacturing should shorten each of their work shifts by one hour to improve their safety record. Although the argument may seem convincing at first, the lack of evidence leads me to conclude that the argument is invalid on many grounds.

First of all, the vice president needs to provide specific evidence on on-the-job accidents of Butler Manufacturing and Panoply Industries. The vice president assumes that if Butler does not shorten their work shifts, the trend of on-the-job accidents between Butler and Panoply during the past year will be similar this year. However, it is possible that the percentage of on-the-job accidents of the past year is temporary and may not continue in the long run. It should be viewed in the long term.

In addition, the vice president assumes that Butler and Panoply are similar except the work shifts. However, there is no specific evidence that they are not different. Panoply may have better machinery systems or educations for workers to prevent them from accidents compared to Butler. And they could be the crucial variables for their on-the-job accidents. Even the vice president does not mention whether Butler and Panoply are in the same industry. It is possible that Panoply is in the industry which is safer than Butler.

Second, the vice president is based on that it is substantial that Butler workers reported 30 percent more accidents in the workplace than workers at Panoply. Without stating the actual number of on-the-job accidents of both corporations, we can assume the number of 30% is marginal. It is possible, for instance, that if the number of on-the-job accidents of Panoply during the past year was 10, the number of accidents of Butler was only 13.

Even if the differences between the numbers of the accidents of both corporations are substantial, we need to focus on not the number of accidents, but the scale of accidents. Even if there are more on-the-job accidents in Butler than Panoply, the damage of the accident in Butler might be minor and the damage of the accident in Panoply is too huge to easily recover.

Lastly, the vice president assumes that if they shorten their work shifts by one hour, their employees will take adequate rests, but the vice president needs to provide specific evidence whether they will take rests. The employees might spend an hour which is given by early work shifts for playing extreme sports such as soccer, basketball, or drinking. If they engage in these activities, more fatigue and sleep deprivation could be caused. Therefore, although more rests and sleeps can prevent many on-the-job-accidents as the recent government study betrays, there is no specific evidence that the shortening work shifts ensure employees’ rests and improve Butler’s safety record. Also, it is needed detailed information about the recent government study. It is uncertain that the study result can be applied to the Butler case.

In conclusion, the argument is unsound on many grounds. In order to strengthen the argument, the vice president should give more detailed information on Butler.