108) The following appeared in a memo from the owner of a chain of cheese stores located throughout the United States.

For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses. Last year, however, all of the five best-selling cheeses at our newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin. Furthermore, a recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. Since our company can reduce expenses by limiting inventory, the best way to improve profits in all of our stores is to discontinue stocking many of our varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this memo, the owner of a chain of cheese stores contends that his stores should discontinue stocking many of their varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses to improve profits. Although the argument may seem convincing at first, the lack of evidence leads me to conclude that the argument is invalid on many grounds.

First, the owner needs to provide evidence that last year’s cheese sales trend will continue this year and beyond. The sales trend of domestic cheeses should be kept under constant scrutiny in the long run. Last year’s popularity of Wisconsin cheeses might be temporary. The author also assumes that the sales trend of their newest store would be similar to that of their whole stores throughout the U.S. However, there is no substantial evidence whether their newest store can represent stores across the country. It can be possible that the consumers of the newest store have preferred the cheeses from Wisconsin, for they live in Wisconsin and the newest store locates in Wisconsin. In that case, the sales result of the newest store could not represent the countrywide sales results.

Furthermore, the owner assumes that people are going to consume domestic cheeses because there are increasing preferences for domestic cheeses on the recent survey. The owner needs to supplement the specific evidence that people’s preferences can be interpreted directly to their behaviors. Although respondents prefer domestic cheeses to imported cheeses, they may buy imported cheeses when they are cheaper than domestic cheeses. In addition, the author trusts the survey results which show the increasing preferences for domestic cheeses among the magazine’s subscribers. Despite the results of the survey, it should be clear how much preferential gap is in recent surveys compared to the past for the domestic cheeses. If the original results which are the percentage of whom answered on preferring the domestic cheeses of the survey were marginal, the current increasing trend could also be meaningless. Even if the gap between the past and the new surveys’ results is substantial, the owner needs to evaluate the evidence whether the subscribers could represent all of their consumers. The number of subscribers could be negligible comparing countrywide cheese consumers.

In conclusion, the argument is unsound on many grounds. In order to strengthen the argument, the author should reconsider whether their consumers will buy domestic cheeses more than imported cheeses or not.