130) The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have filed a formal complaint, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, to avoid the expense of purchasing butter, the Happy Pancake House should extend this cost-saving change to its restaurants throughout the rest of the country."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this memorandum, the business manager contends that the Happy Pancake House should replace butter to margarine throughout the whole country to save the costs. Although the argument may seem compelling at first, the unsubstantiated assumptions lead me to conclude that the argument is invalid on many grounds.

First of all, the business manager contends that most of their customers satisfy with replaced margarine because 98 percent of customers have not complained by a formal complaint. This argument assumes that if people do not complain by a formal complaint, it means that they satisfy with services. However, it is possible that the customers did not like margarine but they have not complained because of the way how to make a formal complaint is so complicated. Also, it is possible that they did not make any complaint but they would determine not to visit the Happy Pancake House again.

Second, the business manager believes that a number of customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine when they are given margarine instead of butter according to many servers’ reports. Another assumption the business manager makes in this argument is that servers’ reports are credible. However, the servers would be so busy that they could not record the reports precisely. Although the reports are correct, it does not mean that the customers’ preference over butter and margarine is indifferent. The customers may have thought that the restaurants serve only margarine, therefore they have not asked to give them butter, not margarine.

Lastly, the business manager argues that changing butter to margarine should be extended nationwide to reduce expense. This claim is based on the assumption that the cost of providing butter is bigger than the cost of using margarine and the customers of the rest of the country excluding the southwestern United States would not mind whether the restaurants use butter or margarine. However, even if the butter is more expensive than the margarine, if there is more expense to store the margarine than the butter, the Happy Pancake House’s income would decrease. Thus, replacing butter by margarine may do not lead the increase in income directly. Furthermore, the customers in other regions of the United States could be more sensitive to tastes. And they may prefer butter to margarine. Though southwestern customers do not care about whether the restaurants use butter or margarine, other customers, especially in the northeastern United States, may believe that pancakes should be eaten with butter.

In conclusion, the argument is unsound on many grounds. The business manager needs to rethink the aforementioned assumptions.