1.Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough,

The statement implies that the deer populations reported from local hunters are declining and the trend is matched with recent global warming. Therefore, it concludes that the declining deer populations is resulted from the impact of global warming, which makes them unable to follow their usual migration patterns to cross the frozen sea and search for the food they need. However, before this statement can be properly evaluated, three evidence must be provided.

First of all, to make the reports from hunters valid and warranted enough to prove the declining trend of deer populations, this statement should provide specific details of the reports, including the number of sampling data, the observation period, and the way hunters observing deer populations as evidence. For instance, if the reports only consist of the observation from three local hunters within two months, and they only go out for hunting once a week, then the reports will be severely biased because of lacking of enough data and not taking the seasonality factor into consideration. Consequently, the statement would need to provide more information of the reports to make the reports effective.

Furthermore, the statement should deliver evidence of the necessity of deer migration to find their food. According to the passage, their habitat, the islands they live on, must be warm enough to sustain the plants they feed on, which means they must live within the area with the certain plants they need. If those plants are sufficient enough for deer, then there is no need for them to cross the sea to search for foods. Therefore, global warming should not impact populations of deer from the aspect of food searching, since their existing habitats already contain the plants they need so even if global warming does lead to sea ice melting in Canada’s arctic regions, which hinders them from migrating across islands, they can still survive with enough foods.

Finally, the statement should present evidence about the causal effect of global warming and the declination of deer habitats and populations, including by what degree does the sea ice melt caused by global warming and when has this impact been identified, so that it can be further analyzed if global warming should be account for the decline of deer populations. For instance, if the global warming effect was identified fifty years ago, and the speed of sea ice melting has been progressing in an extremely slow speed that so far only an exceptionally small percentage of sea ice melts; however, the reports from local hunters stating a drastically declining trend starting from last year. In such case, the change of deer populations can be hardly related to global warming, since there is no sign showing that deer populations were affected when global warming has started decades ago.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author can offer details of above evidence, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the relationship between declining deer populations and deer not being able to cross the sea.