TPO-29:Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? To improve the quality of education, universities should spend more money on salaries for university professors. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is undeniable that education quality of universities depends heavily on the quality of professors. Therefore, in my opinion, I strongly agree with the statement that universities should spend more money on salaries for university professors to improve the quality of education for two reasons.

To begin with, a high salary is always a strong incentive in the job market. Therefore, spending more money on salaries for professors will not only drive university professors to perform well in order to secure their career, but also can attract more potential and competitive candidates who consider themselves competent for the role. Therefore, universities can not only ignite the teaching passion of their professors, but also have sufficient supply of professors outside their schools who are willing to take the job because of the high salaries, which will help maintain the teaching quality of professors due to the intense competitiveness. Take the public universities in Taiwan for an example. Since there is a limitation of professor salaries by Taiwan regulation, many famous and reputed professors who were once teaching in Taiwan public universities are now teaching in universities in Hong Kong because they offer two times higher than universities in Taiwan do, which demonstrates that higher salaries are key to attracting great professors. Further, those Hong Kong universities which are willing to provide higher salaries and attract professors from all over the world all rank higher than Taiwanese universities in the ranking of education quality, which explains that increasing salaries for professors is a positive factor of improving education quality.

Secondly, a high salary can equip professors with a better living standard, so they don't need to spend more time on earning money besides their education career. In this way, they can stay focused on teaching, which will definitely bring up the quality of education. There was a news years ago stating that a Taiwanese university professor found his salary far from enough to support his family; consequently, he taught in a private cram school after his regular working hours to make more money. In order to bring more sales to that cram school, he would leak the upcoming examination questions to students in the cram school, which was totally against the regulation and seriously did harm to the rights of students who didn't do the cram school. The behavior of the professor is totally incorrect, but it points out an issue when salaries for professors are way too low. In this case, some of them will still run the risk to break the rule and eventually harm the quality of education.

Based on the two reasons above, I totally agree with statement that universities should spend more money on salaries for university professors to give them more incentives to perform well and be more focused on education, and improve the quality of education.