32. The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter th

The author argues here that shortening working hours reduce on-the-job accidents and, therefore, increases productivity. Stated in this way, the argument reveals several instances of poor reasoning and ill-defined terminology. To justify this conclusion, the author takes the performance of a nearby factory into account and compares their on-the-job accidents ratio to his, the Quiot Manufacturing, and sees a correlation between the working hours and the emerged accidents. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides only little credible support for the author’s recommendation. Hence, the argument can be considered incomplete or unsubstantiated.

First, the argument readily assumes that both plants outcome is based on the same circumstances and, therefore, he can just adopt the differences to achieve the same results. This is merely an assumption made without much solid ground. For example, it is not stated if the factories produce the same products to be better comparable, if the cause of a higher efficiency in the Panoply Industries plant is caused by the fewer working hours or another factor or if the workers are equipped with saver clothes. There are numerous more potential reasons for a higher productivity in the other factory. Hence, the argument would have been much more convincing if it explicitly stated that after a change in working hours in the close by manufacture, the on-the-job accidents decreased or that the companies are very similar and well comparable.

Secondly, the argument claims that fewer working-hours lead to fewer accidents at work and, thus, a higher productivity. This is again a very weak and unsupported claim as the argument does not demonstrate any correlation between fewer accidents and a higher productivity, let alone the claim that accidents indeed decrease with a changed number of working hours. To illustrate, there could be many other reasons why people in the author’s factory experience on-the-job accidents on a higher frequency than the Panoply Industries plant. The machines could be more dangerous or more difficult to use, the workers could be worse educated to do the job or shorter onboarded. The worker’s competence could be significantly different to do the job or the industry of the two companies is just very different, so the work differs highly in the rate of work-accidents. Thus, without convincing answers to these questions, the reader is left with the impression that the claim is more of a wishful easy solution rather than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the above-mentioned reasons and is, therefore, unconvincing. It could be considerably strengthened if the author clearly mentioned all the relevant facts or conducted a study proving the made claims. In order to assess the merits of a certain situation, it is essential to have full knowledge of the contributing factors.