Claim: Imagination is a more valuable asset than experience.Reason: People who lack experience are free to imagine what is possible without the constraints of established habits and attitudes.

The topic raises the controversial issue of whether the ability to imagine is more important than the actual experience since it is not biased by habits and attitudes. Indisputably, imaginations of potential happenings are very useful to prior evaluate the outcome of an action and help people to have a gut feeling before even starting. Nevertheless, it is hard to compare the personal assets imagination and experience in value since imagination builds upon made experiences and, additionally, can be biased by the established habits and attitudes of the person imagining. Therefore, I generally disagree with the statement that imagination is the better asset than experience and would argue that they both depend on each other and are important for different situations.

First, imagination can barely happen without any experiences in that very field. That can be even someone describing a situation or making research about it. I would like to point out that the more experiences you have in this area, the more realistic your imagination will be. Even if you use the explanation of other people about the thing you want to imagine, the experiences of this person will be mirrored by the subsequent imagination. To illustrate, let us look at the example of someone trying to imagine an elephant without having seen it before. If there is nothing to base the imagination of, the elephant will very likely look like something made up which has nothing to do with the actual animal. The more experience the person imagining has through the description of the looks and behavior of the animal, or the real experience to have seen an elephant, the more detailed and feasible an imagination at a later point of time will be. Consequently, it is pretty obvious that no imagination can be possible without a glimpse of experience and, thus, both abilities are important in their ways.

Furthermore, your imaginations cannot be completely abandoned of any habits or attitudes. Usually, they reflect what you experienced or what other people describe, which includes the own, or the other’s, habits and attitudes. Thus, your imagination pretty much reflects the attitudes and habits of the experiences made and, therefore, is not free from biases. Even if something is explained objectively in a scientific way, there is always a perspective on a narrower or author or the reader connects the objective descriptions with the personal experiences to imagine the situation more precisely. As an example, many people have already made the experience to have gotten told a story about a person and then imagined the looks of his or her. Usually, the imagination is far from the real person’s looks which proves the statement to be not fully true. Hence, all the evidence above demonstrates that imagination and experience are highly related.

In conclusion, although the skill of imagining something very precisely is of great value, it is always related to the persons experienced in a way which makes none of the assets more important than the other one. In fact, experience is more likely to occur without prior imagination than the other way around.