Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced

The author claims here that due to fewer people attending movies of the Super Screen Movie Production Company (SSMPC), there should be more budget spend on marketing next year to reach more potential people watching SS movies. Stated in this way, the argument shows several instances of poor reasoning and ill-defined terminology. To justify, the author states that a higher proportion of positive reviews means that less people were reached this year. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides only little credible support for the author's recommendation. Hence, the argument can be considered incomplete and unsubstantiated.

First, the argument realdily assumes that a higher quality of movies brings more prople to watch it. This is merely a claim made without much solid ground. For example, if compared to newspapers, the highes sales numbers are noted by the most simple papers, like the Bild in Germany. This brings up the question if more demanding movies actually let more people go to the cinema to watch it? Often, people just want to distract themselves from a hard day at work and rather go for a movie which does not require too much thinking work. Hence, the argument would have been much more convincing if it stated that the movies with higher quality let more people watch it in the cinema, or if there is an downwards trend.

Secondly, the author realily claims that the reason is not the quality, but the lack of awareness. This again is a weak and unsupported claim not considering the change of the market and people's preferences. A reason for less visitor could also be that there is new competiton such as streaming services like Netflix which let's fewer poeple to go to the cinema to watch a movie. Through the increased competition, the prices of a visit in the cinema could relatively have increased by a big extent since the new emerged streaming services let a customer watch as many movies in high quality as they want to for as little as the cost of two cinema visity. This development along with a more wide-screen TVs in households could lead to less people watching SS movies this year. Therefore, the arguemnt would have been more convincing if the author had explicitly evaluated the reason for the lower attendance of the SSMPC movies.

Finally, a relatively more positve share of positive reviews does not show any insight how many people in total reviewed the SSMPC movies. It could be possible that the people assessing the movies have changed or less people had access to the survey about the movies. Thus, one should ask the quesion if the reviews are actually comparable in participants and statistically significant. If, for instance, there is just one reviewer this year but thousands of people reviewing SS movies last year, the claim that the quality rose is not very convincing. Therefore, a more detailed statement about the reviews would let the reader understand it's significance and provide more arguments for the claim that the problem lies not with the quality if their movies.

In conclusion, the arguement is flawed and unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster is further, the author must provide more detailed insights in the movie market and the reviews made about SSMPC movies. Without this information, the argument remains unsubstantiated and and open to debate.