60. The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice for a client.Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season th

The author claims here that an investment in Consolidated Industries, a major heating oil retailer, will pay off since in the region, most homes are heated with oil and a recent population growth with increase the demand of heating oil and, therefore, the price will increase proportiunally. Stated in this way, the argument reveals several instances of poor reasoning and ill-defined terminology. To justify this conclusion, the author notes that the weather is predicted to remain stable for the next years, so that all houses will continue to use heating oil in the future. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that the heating systems of the new houses is not set yet and that the oil will maintain the same taxation in the future even though it is condidered as a resource polluting the air when burned. Hence, the argument can be considered incomplete or unsubstantiated.

First, the argument readily assumes that the recent population growth will lead to a higher demand of heating oil. This is merely an assumption made without much solid ground. For example, it is not stated whether new build houses will use the traditional, but ecologically bad oil as a fuel for heating. Since the climate change is internationally accepted as a thread for the world’s population, new build houses could use alternative heating solutions such as photovoltaic systems or geothermal energy. Furthermore it is not stated if the people moving into the region initially come from an even colder region, thus the overall demand of oil could actually decrease. Consequently, it is pretty obvious that an increasing demand of oil is not warranted and, therefore, an rising oilprice along with a better standing for Consolidated Industries is not certain.

Secondly, the argument claims that through stable weather conditions and increasing population, the oilprice will not change or that Consolidated Industries will benefit from that. This again is a weak and unsupported claim as it does not demonstate any evidence of that to happen. To illustrate further, through the pollution from widespread heating fired with oil, the government could likely increase taxes for that resource which increases the price and decreases the demand. The personal opinion to use “clean-energy” and govermental actions to prevent more non-renewable energies to be used then could significantly lower the use of oil which directly affects the industry around it. Thus, a stable oil price and demand for oil is not proved which makes the investment insecure.

In conclusion, the arguemnt is flawed for the above-mentioned reasons and is therefore unconvincing. It could be considerably strenthened if the author clearly meantioned all the relevant facts or made assumtions about the future based on scientific studies. Without this information, the claim remains unsubstantiated and open for debate.