People should question the rule of authority as opposed to accepting them passively.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

This topic raises the controversial issue of whether authorities made rules should be questioned rather than just accepting them thoughtlessly. Indisputably, questioning settled rules and habits can be very beneficial for the society since there might be a better solution for the faced issue and it keeps the inferior continuously using his/her cognitive skills. Nevertheless, the existence of authorities has proved itself very useful and efficient in many areas over the past centuries and makes it possible for many complex systems to work. Thus, I generally disagree with the opinion that people should always question the rules authorities make, but rather when they are sure about a much better approach, so it depends on definite conditions.

First, a hierarchy system with its several authorities on different levels keeps a vastly complex system running, or even possible to have been created. I would like to point out that as soon as many people are involved, some stick out because of extraordinary knowledge, specific skills or ambition and often become an authority in this institution for that reason, meaning they proved an over-average competence for a job. To illustrate, let us look at the example of the army. There, authorities play a very important role and are the reason why an army including thousands of people actually work efficiently. If every soldier would question his or her authority, no command would be followed, and widely complex war strategies would never be feasible in practice. Consequently, it is pretty obvious that the passive acceptance of authorities is crucial for numerous complex systems.

Furthermore, questioning leader’s decisions or rules can make a progress less time efficient and generate worse outcomes. Specifically, when people joining a system with little specific knowledge, it is important for them to learn the basics before fully understanding and, then, questioning the system they are in. As an example, in school, children come into a very well-thought-out institution and need a learn a lot in a relatively tight curriculum. Both common sense and personal experience have told us that learning basics like reading and writing are tremendously important for everyone to learn and questioning the sake of learning it would cost valuable time. Hence, all the evidence above demonstrates that at an early stage in an institution, accepting authorities is usually beneficial for all stakeholders.

Admittedly, questioning authorities can be very important in many areas, too. This is especially true when it comes to very controversial or extreme changes or in politics. As an example, very horrific and incompetent leaders like Adolf Hitler need to be questioned as an authority if his decisions follow the common sense of the people underneath him. However, the above argument does not constitute sufficient support that it makes sense in all fields.

In conclusion, although it is crucial when authorities make extreme and controversial decisions to question and criticize them, in general, the system of authorities makes sense and is time efficient. Therefore, the statement should include conditions where and when to accept the set-up rules by leaders, and when it is needed to see them with a critical eye. In fact, the level of knowledge and experience in the field rises proportionally with the reasoning of questioning rules of authorities, in my opinion.