People should question the rule of authority as opposed to accepting them passively.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the reasons for which the statement may or may not be true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Mohandas Gandhi rightly said, "Non-co-operation with evil is as much a duty as co-operation with the good". While, definitely it is true that we must question the rules of authority which are unjust and unacceptable to people, but going so far to say that we must question every rule of the authority is not appropriate. There are various factors that must be considered like the kind of authority, the overall intention of the government and the consequences of the rule that can expediently decide if the rule should be questioned or not by the people.

Firstly, let us scrutinize the situations where the authority or the government is unjust or oppressive or undemocratic. In any case where the authority's major agenda is dubious or perilous, the questioning of the rule becomes an ethical duty of the people. For example, after knowing in clarity that the British colonial rule in India was meant for exploitation and oppression of the native people, Mohandas Gandhi initiated Non- Cooperation movement. He questioned and broke many laws made by the British government, the famous amongst which is his breaking of salt-law in the 'Dandi March' in the Dandi village of Gujrat. Thus, when the rules are from an unjust ruler, they should be and must be brought to questioning by the people. And as Kennedy once quoted, "Being oppressed silently is a greater crime than oppressing", therefore, it is completely justified to raise voice against rule of such government.

Also, there may be rules from an authority with good intentions that may be unacceptable to people. For instance, the 327 law code of India that bans homosexual marriages. The government, in this case, is not unjust or intending any evil intentions of exploitation or oppression. But as with the most matters, the issue is subjective. Every individual is entitled to his or her own opinion on the matter. In such cases, as is happening in India recently, people must raise their voice and let the authorities know that their rule is not acceptable to them. When the intensity of such voices will go high, the government would reconsider its laws to suit the requirements of the people.

On the other hand, there are cases when the rules and the government both are meant for the higher good of all. Due to subjectivity and individual discretion one may not be in support of a certain rule, but questioning every rule of an authority may lead to a tumultuous and unpeaceful environment in the country. For example, in India, going to school is mandatory for children. I did not like this rule during my childhood days. Protesting against it would not have been a good option and would, in fact, turn out to be harmful to the future of children. Therefore, people should not object to all rules of the government without realizing it's bigger picture.

To conclude, people must question the authority on rules that are unjust or are laid by an unfair government. Whereas, for the rest of the matters, questioning every rule may lead to turbulence which is not inducting conducive environment for the citizens and should be avoided.