Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of the corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The responsibilities of the corporations to promote the well-being of the societies and the environment in which they operate, i.e. Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) is although not something ordained by the law but is definitely incumbent upon them as ethical responsibilities by humanitarian aspects, I believe. The reason being the moral obligation that one has to return the nourishment received from one's milieu, the positive group effect that would catapult the charity, and the baseness of being a solipsist and mercenary life.

When we were born, we were in a feeble state. We could not help ourselves but it was our surrounding through our parents that nurtured us. It provided us with the amenities like parks, public libraries, inculcated social and cultural richness in us. When we grow and become capable enough to provide our support to the milieu that made us the way we are, a negligent attitude would be a cowardice's act. It is the moral call that we must give back to the roots that nourished us. And this is the way human race progresses ahead in time. An allegory for this could be the leaves. The Huge long trees nourish the leaves with water and food and once it is autumn, the leaves wither and fall to nourish the tree that once nourished it acting as a fertilizer to engender the growth of new trees. Since the corporations when huge are financially strong, therefore they must contribute to the welfare of their surrounding people and environment, not only monetarily but by their time and physical strength too. This would upgrade the impoverished section as well as help bridge the gulf between the rich and poor in the society.

Indian poet 'Maithilisharan Gupta' in his famous poem 'Manushyata' qualifies a person to be called human being if he or she is only concerned about himself. He attributes selfishness to be an animal instinct. Like an animal only cares about filling his own stomach and nothing else. It is very base to be living such a solipsistic existence. Therefore, we must care and nurture the society to inculcate in us the human aspects.

In sum, corporations must responsibly contribute to the society to feed their conscience and shed positive impact upon each other. This would prevent them from being self-centered and become more empathetic.