The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of video rental stores.

"In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for bargains, raising our rental price is not a viable option to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Martson significantly decreased it's operating expenses by closing at 6:00pm rather than 9:00pm and by reducing it's stock by eliminationg all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardising our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in other nine Movie Galore stores."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the argument posits that the operating time of their stores must be reduced so that they could make more profit which was recently declining. He supports this argument with the premise of one of their ten stores which significantly reduced the operating expenses by reducing the operating time and the stock. The argument looks plausible on a cursory look but a deeper scrutiny demarcates loopholes and demands certain evidence to make the argument sound.

Firstly, did the the store in downtown Martson significantly increase it's profit by curtailing the operating time and cost? Author does not mention anything about the sales of the Martson downtown store. It is quite plausible that though the store might have save significantly in the operating expense but their profit would not have increased because of low sales in the low operating time. Moreover, the store might have incurred profits lower than their previous months due to the lower inventories. Therefore, the author must present an exhaustive financial analysis with the comparision of it's sale in atleast the previous 10 to 20 months. This would give a good estimate of how significantly the author's idea work to increase profit.

Even if the Marston downtown store runs profitably for the previous moth, how does it ensure that the other stores would too? Is it not feasible that Marston people are daytime people and the evenings are sales are generally and exceptionally low only in the Marston region? Maybe the other stores have a much higher share of customers flowing in during the evening time after the office hours which might not be the case in the Marston. Marston might be a town of relatively old and retired people who have time during the day to fetch movies while in the other areas, the evening time might be the busiest. Also, it is quite feasible that the people in Marston does not have demand for movies much older than five years, but this might not be the case everywhere. Thus, the author must evince substantial proof that Marston town culture, demographics, and people are very much analogous to the places and people where other ten stores are.

Also, even if we consider that Marston downtown is similar to all the other ten location of the stores, are the customers at Marston satisfied with the reduced inventories and operating time? Nowhere does the author mention how the customers there feel about this change. Are they disappointed and this change is inconvinient to them or they are ok with the new store policy. The author must conduct a survey representative of the customers in Marston to show that majority of them are happy with the change. If the customer is not satisfied or finds the timings inconvinient, the jeopardy is higher than that of losing reputation by increasing cost. The company might end up loosing it's customer base!

In sum, the argument should be substantiated by answering the above questions with the pertinent piece of evidence. Until then, we must be skeptic of the claim and not take a step as risky as that of reducing much significant business hours and inventory of the company outlets.