The fact that technology is outpacing the needs of those in cultures that can afford the technology creates cultures of excessive consumerism.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Today’s era of twentifirst century is witnessing unprecedented and superfast technological advancement. The growth of technology is outpacing our needs. While this has definitely led to a better and more comfortable lifestyle, but blaming technological growth to culture of excess consumerism would be fallacious. The primary reasons to corroborate this fact is the gamut of range that technology provides in all economic range and that mere correlation of technological advancement and growing consumerism is not enough to accuse the former to be the cause of the later.

Firstly, we must remind ourselves of the wide exhaustive range of products the technology todaqy offers. At no other time in the history was such a wide range available at our dispensation. For example, the cell phones that we use have such a wide economic range that a labour in India or Africa is also able to buy and use a cell phone in his meagre income. The more the technology advances, lower are the prices. So, linking the excessive consumerism to technology seems spurious and moreover, rationally invalid.

Secondly, there can be other factors that might have grown along with the growing technology that can be plausible reasons fo rthe growing consumerism. For example, people these days want to look privileged even if they are actually not. Although this phenomenon is existing since ages, it has grown humongously these days. Technology does make the practising of this “wanna look cool” phenomenon more viable with the excessive exorbitant facilities it provides, but this phenomenon could be carried out with other things like jwellery, precious stones, spacious houses or any such thing. Therefore, it is unjustified to ignore all the potential ccauses of rising consumerism and blaming technology for the same.

However, the author might argue that growing technology has enculcated things like internet etc in the list basic requirement of human beings in today’s world. This has led to increase in monetary requirements needed to live a decent life. While I agree that technology has led exorbitant cost of decent living, but the power of choice still lies in the hands of the money owner. He is entitled to spend judiciously and only according to his or her capacity.

Summing up, we can not accuse technological oupacing for the growing culture of excessive consumerism. While the technology has led to higher cost of living, the choice of spending lies solely with the money holder. There can ve various other reasons like moral or psychological responsible for the burgeoning consumerism today.