Downtown Zurzi is becoming increasingly congested with traffic, increasing the commuting time for those who work downtown or near downtown. The nearby city of Loft was faced with the same problem several years ago and implemented a small weekly tax for driving one's car downtown, Downtown traffic almost immediately subsided in Loft and the local government also raised much-needed money for fixing the roads elsewhere. obviously, this plan should be implemented in Zurzi in order to solve the brewing traffic congestion problem.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Author argues that the traffic congestion in Zurzi’s downtown can be mitigated by implementing a small weekly tax on the vehicles that drive there. To bolster his conclusion he provides the evidence of the Loft that faced the same problem that almost immediately subsided with the introduction of the weekly test. However, the author’s argument falls week because of missing evidences like negation of other plausible causes, evincing the similarity of the people travelling in both downtowns and like.

Firstly, the author must corroborate his claim, that the traffic congestion problem of Zurzi downtown would be solved like in the case of Loft’s downtown, with the evidence showing that both the towns share similar characteristics and features. Was the congestion at Loft as bad as the traffic problem here? It is possible that even after levying those taxes and obviating some traffic that was obviated in the Loft’s downtown, the results in Zurzi are not substancial enough or the congestion levels do not drop to our requirement.

Secondly the suthor must also provide the evidence that the poeple in Zurzi are not economically strong enough to p ay the small weekly tax. It is quite possible that since they have their workplaces in or near the downtown, they might have o other option but to use that downtown road. And also, that they are well off to pay the menial amount of tax that is levyed on them unlike the people using Loft’s downtown who might not be as strong financially to give that tax or that they might have an alternative route which could be used for free. Without this evidence, the argument cannot be concluded strongly and these evidence are vital to make or break the argument.

Thirdly, we need a report that exhaustively takes into account all the alternative solutions possible for regulating traffic at the downtown. Will building a bypass road not help the traffic? What are the possibilities of the alternative roads and an engineeres estimation of the extent to which it would resolve our problem. Also, is there a scope of widening the roads of Zurzi’s downtown. How would that affect the traffic present. What percentage of people need to use that particular downtown road indispensibly. These are critical to build the argument strong.

In sum, although the argument sounds good, the above mentioned evidences are cardinally needed to reach the conclusion proposed by the author. It is these evidences that can corroborate or dismantle the author’s claim. Without them, the argument remains spurious with loopholes and we must be skeptical of it’s success.