The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine:

“Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Author surmises that since manned space flight is costly, we must invest our resources in unmanned space flight. The premise he or she uses is the recent success of unmanned space probes and satellites that could gather great deal of information. However, on deeper scrutiny, the argument proves to be standing on myriads of stated and unstated assumptions--the purpose of both manned and unmanned flights is the same and both are interchangeable, the manned flights are costly, unsafe, the resources can either be invested in manned flight or unmanned flight--which if unwarraneted can undermine the author's conclusion.

Firstly, the author claims that the sucees of unmanned flights to gather useful information suggests that we can substitute the launch of manned flight with unmanned flight. This stands on the unstated assumption that both the flights -manned and unmanned- are sent for the same purpose. Is it not possible taht manned flights are sent for gathering other kind of information than the unmanned? For example, manned flights can convey useful information like how it feels on other planets, how does the body react, what is the composition of the soil therein, etc. These informations cannot be gathered by the unmanned flights which are mostly satellites and can have their own set of limitation. Thus, assuming that the two are interchangable is fallacious, and author must produce detailed purpose of both inorder to warrant his assumption.

Secondly, the author states that the manned flights are costly and unsafe. This stated assumption is nowhere supported by any kind of data or substantial proof. What if the cost of both unmanned and manned flight turns out to be equivalent? We need a rigoroust cost report and analysis to justify the assumption that one is costier than the other. Also, what does the author mean when he says that unmanned flight is "dangerous"? Is he accounting only the risk associated with the few human lives that would be travelling in the manned flight? What if unmanned flights have more risk of exploding or falling back on earth. That would put more number of innocent lives on earth on risk. It is quite possible that the manned flight proves to be more safe in this case. Therefore, the author must justify these assumptions in order to bolster his opinion.

Lastly, the author assumes that the resources can be either invested in manned flight or unmanned flight. Although, it is quite possible that resources are sufficient enough to be invested in both. Or it is also possible that the nation's economy is running under crisis and cannot afford investment in any of the two flights and some other third thing is what the priority must be. So, without the knowledge of these alternate possibilities, we cannot justify that the resources must be invested in unmanned flight only.

In sum, the entire argument is weak, standing on he assumptions discussed earlier. If these assumptions prove to be unwarrented, the argument would fall. In order to strengthen the argument, the author must bring forth the justifications and evidences required to substantiate his opinion. Else, we must be skeptical of it's credibility.