College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

"When a person aspires for something from his whole heart, the entire soul of the world conspires to help him succeed." These famous lines from the book 'The Alchemist', touches the chord of millions of people who have endorsed the book. Surely, there is wisdom in its saying which makes me stand against the notion that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the basis of availability of jobs in that field.

To begin with, let us remember one of the most successful Indian movie of this century, '3 Idiots', in which the protagonist Aamir Khan advocates his two colleagues cum friends at the engineering college to follow their passion rather than becoming engineers only on a hunt for a secured job and societal pressure. They end up following their passion and becoming successful wildlife photographers. The success of the movie in India and abroad is credited to the subject of the film which was not looking out for success but following passion which would eventually make success run after you. In India, jobs in fields related to doctory and engineering is considered respectable and society only treats you successful if you belong to one of the two. But would Sachin Tendulkar have been as successful, if he was a doctor and not a cricketer? Would Lata Mangeshkar, the eminent Indian singer, rise to the heights she is now if he was an engineer? No doubt, these professions did not have concrete job security, but the important factor is, are you really passionate about what you do. Does that thing fires your soul. If not, no matter how great the job opportunities be in that field, you would end up not truly satisfied with your life, probably frustrated. Most probably, you won't be able to excel the field if you don't love your work. Therefore, job conditions must not be the criteria for choosing career options but passion should be.

Having said that, there might be some circumstances in life like if you have an albatross of financial responsibility around your neck, or you have got a large family to feed because of some mishap with your parents. The circumstances in life might not give you the privilege to follow your heart always. In those cases, one must dutifully respond to his responsibilities and take safe and wise options considering his large family that he would be supporting.

Therefore, I would sum up by saying that college students should not base their choice of a field of study merely on the basis of the job availability but follow the field where their passion lies, unless their life does not give them scope to do so.