Collectors prize the ancient life- size clay statuesof human figuresmade on Kali Island but have long wondered how Kalinese artists were able to depict bodies with such realistic precision. Since archeologist have recently discoveredmolds of human heads and hands on Kali, we can now conclude that the ancient Kalinese artists used molds of actual bodies, not sculpting tools and techniques, to create these statues. This discovery explains why few ancient Kalinese sculpting tools have been found. In light of this discovery, collectors predict that the life-size sculptures will decrease in value while the miniatures increase in the value.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions need to be answered in oredr to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how th eanswers to these questions would help to evaluate the [rediction.

Author makes the case for collectors' prediction that the value of the miniatures would increase while that of life size sculptures would decrease. In doing so, he employs certain premises like finding of molds of those Kalinese life size sculptures indicating that they might have been made from molds rather then carved by tools and techniques. Other reasons being the abstract nature and distinct style of the miniature which suggest that miniatures were not made from molds but carved by tools. The argument of author looks plausible but a deeper scrutiny reveals varous loopholes which must be filled in order to bolster the argument and give it more credibility.

First, the collectors cannot be justified to determine the value of the art forms without knowing the likes and dislikes of the people. A survey must be produced to show that the people actually give more importance to the way the art is made. It is quite possible that people actually don't care whether the art is made from molds or sculpting tools. They might only be concernes with the aesthetics of the art and the beauty that it bring with it. To negate this, the author must bring forth concrete statistics of people choice with expedient questions in a normed survey which is representative of the people interested in the art. This result will giove a better indication of whether truly the value of these arts would change or not after the discovery of molds.

Secondly, a case might be made that since miniatures were abstract and distinct in nature, they might not be able to replace the purpose the life size sculptures might interest specific people. For example, they are people who donot understand and like abstract art and their specific liking is for life size sculptures only. The miniatures would not at all be of interest to those specific people and hence, the value of miniatures would not be affected at all, even tough the value of life sculpture might decrease after the revealing of the fact that molds they were made by molds.

It is also very much possible that people donot follow and are not aware of the archeological findings at all. Therefore, they would not come to know about the mold things and hence, there would be no affect to the pricings of the art types at all. It is very important to find out how well abreast of archeologies and art are the people who buy these things in order to predict if yes, it would affect the value and to what extent it would.

Also, the author also needs to let us know, how many of the life size sculptures and miniatures are present totally. It is because of the fact that valuer is determined by availability of the product,a lower availability of life size sculptures might not let the value decrease though it might be made of mold.

Thereforre, the author must answer these questions and the evidences called above to make his agreement strong and creditable.