The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of video rental stores.

"In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The recommendation from the owner of Movie Galore to implement changes across all ten video rental store in order to recover the loss faced recently is appreciable to some extent but his idea of implementing similar changes across all of these stores is questionable, subject to the amount of evidence provided here.

My first concern is that we are not told about the location of these different stores and the kind of people living there and culture they follow. The memorandum only tells about one of the stores where closing the store at 6:00 pm rather than 9:00 pm and reducing of old movie stocks proved to be of great help in decreasing the operating expenses. But, this change, helped in significantly decreasing the operating expense of this particular store. There might be a store running at a locality where more people are seen outside after 6:00 pm. At this locality, shutting down the store so early would infact lead to opposite results compared to those which were expected. There could also be a case where some people might have a liking for old movies. The stores where such customer demands are more for old movies, there eliminating all old movie stocks would have a reverse effect and the Movie Galore's motives would go for a toss.

Additionally, the memorandum simply repudiates the idea of raising rental prices owing to the fact that their special bargains were the key to their popularity among people. However, if we were provided the knowledge of the pricing and rates of other video rental stores in the same locality we could better evaluate this recommendation. If few stores were in very posh places and other video rentals had a pricing way too much then increasing the rental prices a little bit wouldn't jeopardize the store's reputation of offering great movies at low prices because they would still be lower than prices of their respective counterparts.

Hence, if the memorandum provided more information concerning to which kind of localities the different stores were situated, the kind of people living there and the pricing of Movie Galore with respect to their rivals, this recommendation of implementing similar changes across all stores would create a more convincing case.